Posted by: gayleegayle | January 16, 2011

My Body of Work

Morning!

I have been cleaning house, getting rid of all the extraneous papers cluttering up my office, my home and my life.  I avoided doing this for some time because it just seemed like a tediously unpleasant task.  As I’ve gotten into it though, I realize that it has given me time to take a look at all of the things I’ve done over the years on a personal and professional level.

Every piece of paper, every note, and every photo conjures up memories.  Some great and some not so much, so I try to stick to the role of observer and not allow myself to dwell too much on the emotion of it all.  Luckily, looking at it in its totality helps me to realize that the negative was really only a small part.  

Artists often refer to their “body of work” and as the artist of my life, I am amazed to look around and see the body of work I’ve produced.  Some of it, I can’t believe I’ve done because when I was in the midst of it, I frankly didn’t feel all that comfortable or confident.   I just let my inspired ideas, coupled with my own skill set–no matter how limited those skills may have been–carry me.  I realize now that it was the doing that was the important part, not the perfection or lack thereof.

I also reflected momentarily on how many opportunities I’ve had in front of me that I didn’t take advantage of because I thought I’m not qualified, I might fail, or I might look ridiculous in front of others.  Thankfully, I didn’t allow myself to dwell on that.   I just took it as a strong reminder to continue to take advantage of inspired moments.

How is that working out?  The other day, one of my granddaughters was here watching some Kidz Bop music videos for children.  She was so intent on watching that she wasn’t really engaged in dancing, so I got up and started dancing like I was trying out for Soul Train.   She took one look at me and joined in dancing as intently as I was.  When we were done, her Mom was laughing hard and told me I looked ridiculous.   All I could do was smile. 

My experience in life tells me that if you act on the good things you feel inspired to do and believe you can do them, they’ll give you the most satisfaction.

“Dance like no one is watching, love like you’ll never be hurt, sing like no one is listening, live like it’s heaven on earth.”           ~William Purkey~

Responses

  1. I’m doing the same thing these days, espcially today since it was snowing and I don’t go out on these days. I prefer to stay in with a cup of tea and my blanky, a book, and remember the memories I’ve made.
    Ahhh! Life is so good no matter what season you”re in. Just can’t remember the bad things. LOL!
    I’ve learned to remember only the great things in my life.
    I’m alive to creat the best memories ever.
    To Love, laugh, sing, dance and enjoy like I never have.
    What a wonderful age to be at now. what a wonderful season to be in.
    Love you Sis


Leave a Reply

Categories

dude mom

Life with Dudes Never Looked So Pretty

Keep It Up, David!

I'm slimming down and not stopping now.

The Last Dragon Tribute

The Last Dragon Tribute - Keeping The Glow Alive

Simply Inspired Food

Morning rants of a caffeinated writer.

educationespanol

Wait... Que?

Much Ado About Lisa

For when you've got nothing better to do

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Mellow Into The Moment......With Milo

Your Internal Locus of Control Promotes Personal & Spiritual Growth!

