Posted by: gayleegayle | April 3, 2011

The End is Near

 

Night of the Big Moon

Night of the Big Moon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Morning!

Almost 41 years ago I had my first child, and 27 years ago, I gave birth to my last child. While that may make me amazingly ancient in the eyes of some, I still feel like I have my whole life ahead of me—and I do.  It is certainly a new phase as full of excitement and wonder as any other part of my life.

Many people believe that the world will end in 2012.  When I compare life and the world 40 years ago or 27 years ago with life and the world today, I feel that things are no different.  No better, no worse.

We have always been at odds with presidents and politics.  We had wars and the threat of wars, bizarre events in the world and the environment.  We read the newspaper with the same fear, disgust, anger and conspiracy theories that abound today and there were always those that predicted that the end of the world was near.

I remember receiving such an announcement in our door when I was about 10 years old.  I was inconsolable.  My Mom said, “Oh throw that crap away!”  But I still worried about it for weeks.  We are still here and I suspect we will be for many years to come.

It’s not about how long we have because none of us know on an individual level how long our lives will be.  It’s certainly about the quality of each and every day. So put down the worry about the economy and the future and no matter what your situation, live your life as best you can finding joy in the little things.

  • Live with hope and wonder
  • Love like there is no tomorrow
  • Believe that 90% of your fellow man has good intentions
  • Yet always keep common sense and caution at hand
  • Celebrate all the little wins in your life
  • Greet the rising sun with amazement
  • Same with the moon as well
  • Take nature walks even if you live in a concrete jungle
  • Cook at home and invite family and friends
  • Party like it’s 1999–or maybe 2011.
Nature Walk

Nature walk with my grandson.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These are the things that make life worth living and every day a  joyful one.  In the end it doesn’t matter how many days you’ve had, but that you found joy and meaning in each one.

Carpe Diem!

 

Responses

  1. This is absolutely true. Since I’ve heard this a few times in a row already, I’m gonna get my butt in gear and stop worrying. “Let go and let God”, right? Great article!

  2. Thank you Maya for stopping by. You know what to do! Glad you enjoyed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

dude mom

Life with Dudes Never Looked So Pretty

Keep It Up, David!

I'm slimming down and not stopping now.

The Last Dragon Tribute

The Last Dragon Tribute - Keeping The Glow Alive

Simply Inspired Food

Morning rants of a caffeinated writer.

educationespanol

Wait... Que?

Much Ado About Lisa

For when you've got nothing better to do

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Mellow Into The Moment......With Milo

Your Internal Locus of Control Promotes Personal & Spiritual Growth!

