Posted by: gayleegayle | June 22, 2013

Tranquil Corners

Image

 

No matter where I am in the world or in my life, I always seek out a place where I can slow down, breathe easy and reflect or marvel at this amazing life we live.

Most people miss these moments. They are too busy using the phone, texting, playing games, fretting over what they lack, or complaining about others to even notice.

I love these moments. Right now, I have the back door open, it’s raining, listening to birds chirp, the rain fall, far away thunder rolls, smelling the air, feeling its coolness, enjoying the quiet.  While I am far away from where I began to do this consciously, it is something I have always done.

I remember at the age of six, we moved to Queens, NY. I went outside with my skates to explore my new suburban landscape. There was no one outside, the sun was shining brightly and it was a warm day. I remember this day vividly because I stopped to listen and observe even though I was just a child.

I sat on the curb and noticed how clean the street was. How the sidewalk glistened as though it were made of jewels. The heat felt so good and I just admired it all. I feel that same sense of peace when I think about it right now.

I have not always been in the best of circumstances but I have never been without these tranquil moments. Living in a housing project that was overrun by drugs and crime for many years, I counted my blessings daily.

We had a big family with a tiny bathroom, no window and mildew in the grout. I would clean that bathroom until it was fully sanitized, run a bath with bubbles, light a candle and feel that wonderful moment of peace–of gratefulness for what I had and where I was in my life. I believe it is in these moments that your next move is born.

Go on–catch a moment of tranquility. Enjoy!

 

Responses

  1. God is good! He has blessed me and allowed me to live in tranquility every day.

    • Lucinda! Welcome to Morning! Thank you for stopping by. Your uplifting comments are so appreciated.

  2. I will look for my moment. Thanks Gayle

    • Hi Karen! Welcome to Morning! When you find it, please do come back and let me know.

  3. Hi Gayle! Thank you for sharing that. I find my moment when I sit in my screened in porch and feel at peace surrounded by the water, humming birds, frogs etc, God’s earth. I tell him often I never thought I would be in this place and I thank him.

    • Hi Michelle! Welcome to Morning! My sentiments exactly!


Leave a Reply

Categories

dude mom

Life with Dudes Never Looked So Pretty

Keep It Up, David!

I'm slimming down and not stopping now.

The Last Dragon Tribute

The Last Dragon Tribute - Keeping The Glow Alive

Simply Inspired Food

Morning rants of a caffeinated writer.

educationespanol

Wait... Que?

Much Ado About Lisa

For when you've got nothing better to do

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Mellow Into The Moment......With Milo

Your Internal Locus of Control Promotes Personal & Spiritual Growth!

